Pages Navigation Menu

Fuel/Oil/Lube/Hydraulic Filtration

Course: Half Day, 0.4 CEUs
Christine Sun – Instructor

Did you know that the number one cause of hydraulic/engine component failure is contamination while most of these failures can be prevented by proper filtration? This four hour course will provide an introduction to fuel/lube/oil/hydraulic filtration, increasing market needs, emerging challenges, and new developments in fuel/oil/lube/hydraulic filtration. Trends for future development will also be discussed.

Course Outline:

  • Market Review and Introduction
  • Contaminants in Fuel/Oil/Lube/Hydraulic
  • Market Pressure and Emerging Challenges
  • Hydraulic Filtration Technologies
  • Fuel Filtration Technologies
  • Lube/Oil Filtration Technologies
  • Unmet Needs and Opportunities
  • Future Development Trends

Instructor Bio:

Dr. Christine Sun, President of Filtration Technology International, Inc., is a globally recognized technical and market expert in nonwovens and filtration industry. With over 26 years of extensive experiences in both academic and industrial services, she has not only broad and in-depth knowledge in this field, but also commercial scale hands-on experience on product development. She has over 100 technical publications and patents in the related area.

Dr. Sun was technology director of liquid filtration at Donaldson from 2011 to 2013, and R & D Manager at Freudenberg Filtration Technologies from 2004 to 2011. Before that she was a research professor at the University of Tennessee’s Textiles and Nonwovens Development Center (TANDEC).

Dr. Sun earned her BS, MS and PhD in Chemical Engineering from Tsinghua University, Beijing, and executive certificate from Kellogg School of Management. She received the Sr. Scientist Award in 2012 from AFS and the Best Paper Award in filtration from INDA (Association of the Nonwoven Fabrics Industry) in 2008. She is currently the first vice chair of AFS, board member of Textile Research Journal and board member of Journal of Industrial Textile. She is the past chair of ASHRAE MTG-EEC (filter energy efficiency classification committee) and an active member of multiple air/liquid filtration standard committees, such as ASHREA, SAE, ISO, etc.